H.R. 1735Journalism Competition and Preservation Act

Rep. David Cicilline (D-RI)

Rep. Ken Buck (R-CO), Rep. Mark DeSaulnier (D-CA), Rep. Jamie Raskin (D-MD), Rep. Victoria Spartz (R-IN), Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon (D-PA), Rep. Susan Wild (D-PA), Rep. Gregory Steube (R-FL), Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-FL), Rep. Burgess Owens (R-UT), Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D-WA), Rep. Henry “Hank” Johnson (D-GA), Rep. Mondaire Jones (D-NY), Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-CA), Rep. Madeleine Dean (D-PA), Rep. David Scott (D-GA), Rep. Vern Buchanan (D-FL), Rep. Theodore Deutch (D-FL), Rep. Lucy McBath (D-GA), Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-TX), Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL), Rep. Steven Palazzo (R-MS), Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT), Rep. Dina Titus (D-NV), Rep. Joe Neguse (D-CO), Rep. Doris Matsui (D-CA), Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN), Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY), Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Rep. Antonio Delgado (D-NY), Rep. Adriano Espaillat (D-NY), Rep. Tim Ryan (D-OH), Rep. Dusty Johnson (R-SD), Rep. Kathy Manning (D-NC), Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R-FL), and Rep. Pete Stauber (R-MN)

Introduced: March 10, 2021
Status: The bill was referred to the House Subcommittee on Antitrust, Commercial, and Administrative Law in May 2021.


The “Journalism Competition and Preservation Act” is a bipartisan bill that would provide a temporary safe harbor from antitrust law for news outlets — both big and small — to collectively negotiate with dominant digital platforms. In order to prevent abuses, the safe harbor would only apply if coordination by news publishers: directly relates to the quality, accuracy, attribution or branding, and interoperability of news; benefits the entire industry and is non-discriminatory to other news publishers; and is directly related to and reasonably necessary for these negotiations.

Join the fight
against online
political deception.